Peg Leg Sam (December 18, 1911 – October 27, 1977), born Arthur Jackson in Janesville, South Carolina, United States, was an American country blues harmonicist, singer and comedian. He recorded “Fox Chase” and “John Henry”, and worked in medicine shows.

Peg Leg Sam playing traditional blues.

In the comment section, I noticed someone ask for a translation of what Peg Leg Sam is saying. My mother would have been a better translator, because my grandfather spoke like this, as he was born and raised in the Pee Dee area of Florence, South Carolina, around a similar time. I am two generations removed, and raised in the large metropolitan city of Atlanta, Georgia, where accents go to die, but I did my best. I hope this helps anyone who had difficulties understanding. All my love to music lovers near and far.

Translation

Lord, run Charlie run. Run Charlie run. Oh, yes. You look at me, you look at a man that was born for hard living.

I was born on the 13th day, an odd day, and on a Friday, on a bad luck day.
To show you that was in Harlem (I was in Harlem), looking to go across (cross) the street, running fast. I ran over something. I’m in stitches.

Frog went a courtin’ and he did ride, uh-huh (song).[Sings “Froggy Went A Courtin’].

Everything comes backwards to a man you know. When I was a little born baby, women used to pick me up and kiss me, ‘Ain’t he beautiful’. All my school teachers and things. ‘Oh my, ain’t he beautiful!’

You know what they do when I got to be a man? ’That old thing, ain’t he ugly? That old ugly thing, makes you want to turn your head off when you see him.’

Along comes a bumble-bee, uh-uh,
Along comes a bumble-bee, uh-uh,

Along comes a bumble-bee,
He done a peg-leg bend with a peg-leg plie (plier)
Uh-huh, that’s true

Any body who actually who sung this song, uh-huh
Any body who actually who sung this song, uh-huh

Any body who actually who sung this song
Then peg-leg Sam is likely long gone, uh-huh

Translation end

Leave a Reply

