On Maha Karuna & Maha Maitri (Great Compassion & Great Loving-Kindness)

Love must have these four elements, or it is simply not love:

1) Maitri (loving-kindness ; capacity to offer happiness)
2) Compassion (energy to remove and transform suffering)
3) Joy (reciprocity ; if they make your cry all the time, that is probably not love.)
4) Inclusiveness (their suffering is your suffering ; their happiness, your happiness ; non-discriminating ; no frontiers)

The Buddha had nothing against true love.

Happy Bodhi Day!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s