Something pretty horrific happened to me around February 26, 2016. I’ll find time to write a memoir about it eventually, but it has changed my life trajectory and long-term goals. Perhaps it needed to happen for me to get on my true life path. Who knows. It was not fun to experience, but I will be forever grateful for all that I’ve learned living in Montréal.

I plan to remain in Montréal at least another year, and I will take the MCAT in August. Wish me luck. I am studying hard.

I hope to get into a medical school in Vermont or Michigan, preferably Vermont, and close to the border, so I do not have to move. I should be a Canadian permanent resident in the next year or two, so I would hope to do my residency in Canada for eventual Canadian citizenship.

After that, I’m joining the US Army. I’d start as an O-3 (Captain) Medical Officer.

Life could happen, and all this could change, but once I get an idea in my head, it is very likely to happen.

You might wonder why the Canadian citizenship to join the US Army, and my answer would be that I would like to retire in Québec, and speak French with a heavy accent.

Question of the Day: What is the most influential book you’ve ever read?

It’s a tie between A Tree Grows in Brooklyn and A Farewell to Arms.

I read A Tree Grows in Brooklyn in the 8th grade, and immediately empathized with the feeling of being a tree growing out of a small slit in the sidewalk—little sunlight and water, yet resilient.

I always loved A Farewell to Arms because it was the correct mixture of romanticism and classicism. You have an injured officer hook up with a nurse, but he’s not sure he wants to see her again. She hooks up with him, but she’s not certain she wants to see him again either (realistic even today, and this is in the 1920s). They meet again, and this time, he’s certain he wants something more (romantic. I’m loving that it didn’t start that way, but grew into it). Tragically, she dies giving birth to a child he didn’t want…a son (Very realistic as well. Not everyone is meant for a happy ending. It’s also ironic that he gets what he did not want, yet what is the dream of so many men, and that is both their undoings. You can’t have it all?). I can empathize with the fact that he held the child’s body and felt absolutely nothing. There have been moments in my life when I should’ve felt something, and I’ve just felt absolutely nothing.

The direction of my life seems to be more A Farewell to Arms, than a stock Disney romance, or happily ever after.

Leave a Reply

