If I were to try to win you back
It would not be a handwritten note
In third grade cliché.

If I were to win you back
I would apologize…

For needing attention from people
Who do not matter one-tenth what you did-
What you do…

For making you jealous…
Although I kind of liked that too…

I would walk with you in nature
And hold your hand-

Even though your sense of independence
Would be affronted-

And all the alarms of self-preservation
To avoid the bad, even through the good-
Alarms sounding in us both:
I would hold your hand.

If I were to try to win you back
I would tell you this is it for me
And I have known…
It hurt me so deeply you did not,
At the same time at least, that I did…

But life is messy that way.

I would tell you that you are beautiful
At any age, at any stage-
Just radiant.
You heal my soul.

If I were to try to win you back
I would know it meant forever

And I would want you to know
It was forever with me-

No running, hesitation…
And no more questions-
At least not about that…

You’d be mine.

If I were to win you back,
You’d have to do the same.

Leave a Reply

