I don’t really believe in New Year’s Resolutions, mostly because studies show they do not work long-term. I am, after all, evidence-based at the end of the day.

I’d like to work out more, especially after having a kid and not having been to the gym since 2019 once COVID hit. At this point, there is probably a better chance of me building a home gym.

Really, in 2022, I want to read Things Fall Apart after finding out I have an Igbo 5th cousin with roots in the Imo state of Nigeria 3 generations back on 23andme.

I want to read more about Emperor Tenmu of Japan who helped make medieval Japan vegetarian/plant based, and inadvertently helped foster my love of Japanese food once I went vegetarian then vegan.

I want to read more about Emperor Ashoka of India who converted to Buddhism and became a vegetarian.

They both seem like interesting people.

Having a child has also forced me to read more about Buddhism than I have in a long time, and that feels nice and peaceful.

Leave a comment