I’ve inadvertently fallen down a Youtube rabbit hole. The algorithm started recommending Chinese Dramas to me. They are actually very good, better than most American Dramas I have seen, but I do have a weakness for historical pieces.

I have watched four recently. While some have happier endings and higher audience scores, such as Miss the Dragon (2021), Eternal Love of Dream (2020) based off a series of novels, Three Lives, Three Worlds, The Pillow Book, some are very tragic, such a Ruyi’s Royal Love in the Palace (2018) and The Promise of Chang’an (2020). Tragic stories tend to be more memorable to me, especially if they are done bittersweet, and not just demoralizing.

I liked Ruyi’s Royal Love in the Palace for the historical accuracy, but the way the love of her life changed when he became emperor tears at my heart. I just kept hoping he would remember how much he loved her when they were young, but he kept disappointing me. I can’t imagine how she felt. That series if just sad and sad.

The Promise of Chang’an is bittersweet sad, not just sad and sad. It is like the universe did everything to keep them apart, even though they loved one another and kept trying to protect each other. After the two won me over with their sweet early romance mixed with hilarious youtube video titles, this scene pulled me in with the acting and the music in presenting an insurmountable obstacle to their relationship, around the 30 minute mark. The way her hands tremble only when serving the tea to him in particular, and the tears in their eyes, yes tears, really sell the emotions to me.

I’ve listened to their song at least 50 times since.

In western dramas, it is almost like men cannot cry or have emotions, and in Asian dramas, men can cry, hold hands, and have genuine friendships that are close and not automatically queer, and I like that. Could be. Perhaps not. Who cares. We’re all just making human connections.

Well, I have been thinking of this scene for weeks, and because it stuck out to me as something so random yet insightful, I hope someone else can get something out of their moment — something moving and transformative.

Wish me luck in the next two days as my last days as a third year medical student before I jump into the great beyond before studying for the medical boards, then residency.

Leave a comment